Mighty Big But

  This view of sunsets never gets old to me.
…. Never.

This is taken from my little porch off my apartment and I’ve taken countless pictures much like this one over the years. I can’t resist. Though admittedly, trying to capture a sunset in all its glory is entirely in vain. I just can’t get enough of them.

I got to thinking today  (Happens occasionally…)  about all my “I may not, but…”s. And how these sunsets are a great example.

Stormie O’Martian calls it “Seeing what’s right with this picture” in her book ‘Just Enough Light for the Step I’m On’.

Or, as my friend Missy loves to simply put it ~ PERSPECTIVE … as greatly inspired by Andy Andrews in his book ‘The Noticer’.

I don’t mind my little apartment.. most days. I wouldn’t want to live in a big empty house by myself and this place is just big enough for me (and Li’l Bit). But, so many times, I find myself bemoaning the fact that it just stays so dark in here. Being as I only have three windows, all on one side of the apartment, I’ve wished on many occasions that I at least had an apartment facing the east, so that the sun could filter in as it first comes up in the morning, as opposed to pouring in sometime in the afternoon, throughout the heat of the day.

But, then I would miss out on these beauties. Every evening. And many a day, nothing makes my day more than seeing the sun setting right outside my doorstep.

I may not have the best window to the world, BUT at least mine frames the sun as it sets every evening.

“I may not, BUT…”

What’s your “may not, but….” ?

Published in: on March 16, 2012 at 8:15 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bittersweetjess.wordpress.com/2012/03/16/1241/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hi Jess, a dog picture with a bad grade brought me here and what a nice trip I’ve had. “I may not …read many books, but… the books I’ve read inspire me forever.” Your admiration for sunsets is shared and I continue to snapshot them too, wherever my travels take me. It’s a feeling of, what a beautiful day God just gave me – ENJOY it! You’ll see sunsets and sunrises on my facebook page and in a new website I’m building. I haven’t had a chance to read your other blogs yet, but knowing our meeting is not by chance, I look forward to visiting more often! Stormie’s book “just enough light for the step I’m on” is a common mantra for me as well. God puts fog in front of us so that we stop planning ahead and focus on His direction instead of our own. Is that what the book is about??
    Have a great day and will catch you for a morning chat another day,

    Iris
    http://www.facebook.com/famlifecoach


Leave a Reply

