Time to Make the…. Difference

A couple of weeks ago, a friend had posted on Facebook an incident that had taken place on the morning of Valentine’s Day:

“So, this morning at the Dunkin’ Donuts drive thru, I paid for the car behind me & told them to tell her ‘Happy Valentine’s Day’. The lady caught me at the light, and in tears she thanked me for making her day. Her husband passed away a few months ago, and this is her first Valentine’s Day without him in 20 years. She told me this was his way of telling her he loves her… And this is why it is good to pay it forward!! You have an extra $2, pay for the car behind you, it could mean a lot to them!!”

I loved it! I mean… how uplifting! So, I proceeded to pass it along onto my Facebook page (aka: Timeline… whatever).

Well, it quickly appeared that about the only person who realized that I was merely the sharer of the story, not the person in it was my high school English teacher, who undoubtedly picked up on the subtle use of quotation marks. And I found myself having to correct people throughout the day in saying “It wasn’t me. I had just heard it somewhere else and wanted to pass it along…”

It wasn’t long before conviction set in…

Why wasn’t it me?
Not only… why had I not thought of going myself, for a yummy sweet dozen of glazed goodness that morning, but… Why was I not the one out there helping to make a difference in someone else’s life?

Opportunities await. Every minute of every day.
I mean, who out there COULDN’T use a word of encouragement? Or a hand of help in some way? The simple reminder that we’re not in this world alone? I know I could.

And I know for me personally, anytime someone has extended their heart or hand out to me… it’s been sweeter than the sweetest Boston Cream or Jelly-filled donut Dunkin’ Donuts has to offer.  ♥

Let’s keep our eyes open.
Let’s keep our hearts open.
Let’s ‘be the change we want to see in the world’.

Published in: on March 1, 2012 at 2:08 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bittersweetjess.wordpress.com/2012/03/01/1187/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

