“Not Guilty”

Wow.

I mean, really. Who wasn’t blown away by the verdict in the Casey Anthony case today? Seemed to the general public an all but open and shut case. And yet…

“Not guilty.”

Judging from her reaction, I’d say the defendant was just as blown away as the rest of us.

“Not guilty.”

After years of scrutiny and judgment and public ridicule.

“Not guilty.”

Undoubtedly, by this point, guilty or not, her mind more than likely plagued with regret and second-guessing.  Any shred of hope for a future being crushed by mounting fear. And then…

“Not guilty.”

Now, I won’t deny what was done to that sweet child of hers was heinous and unacceptable. Nor will I deny that all signs pointed to this young mother. But, as I sat there watching the story play out, I couldn’t deny the image of grace either.

And this song “Not Guilty” kept playing through my mind, my heart challenging me to scrutinize my own life and my own indiscretions. How would I measure up with all my sins laid bare before me as well as a seat of judgment? Would I still have a future and a hope?

And I believe… Yes. Because I cling to the belief that I have an Intercessor who knows me , loves me and gave His life for me.

“Love paid the price for mercy. My verdict… Not Guilty.”

Thank you, Lord.

Published in: on July 5, 2011 at 8:18 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bittersweetjess.wordpress.com/2011/07/05/grace/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for sharing this.

  2. Like 🙂

  3. Hey there. 🙂
    I’m new to this blogging thing but I just really needed to let you know I was browsing through a few blogs and found yours out of nowhere… and this specific post helped me taking a deep breath and realizing it’s not so bad… or at least that it shouldn’t be so bad.

    https://bittersweetjess.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/let-it-go/

    Thank you miss Jess. 🙂

    • And by the way… the whole experience with the woman that gave you that note, I’ve lived something similar and it’s really the most amazing feeling in the world – to feel like you’ve been touched by God in such an intimate, personal and kind way.

  4. I think this is awesome, Jess. And so poignantly true!
    Amazing Grace.


Leave a Reply

