“Let it Go!”

I have a piece of paper that means the world to me.

I keep it posted on my fridge, so I never let it be forgotten.

It’s kept inside its little plastic ziplock pouch and to most would just look like a piece of trash.

But, to me, it’s anything but.

It contains only 3 short words, followed by an emphatic exclamation mark. But, it spoke volumes to me the day I received it.

You see, several years back, a situation arose in my life that was one of those ‘squall’ moments. You know the kind. The kind of storm you know will pass, and certainly could be worse, but at the same time, really rocks your boat.

Well, as much as I knew to just let it go and not let it get the best of me… it did. I remember it like it was yesterday. I had headed to my sister’s after work to hang out with her and her kids. And by the time I got there, I  just couldn’t shake all the feelings that had come up with the squall. I kept trying to shake it loose, but it just wouldn’t let me go.

I got home that night and was plagued with emotion. Overwhelmed with emotion I honestly didn’t even feel was mine to carry and yet there it was.

Not being able to sleep, I got out my ‘Streams in the Desert’ to read that day’s passage:

” ‘Do not be anxious about ANYTHING.’ (Phil. 4:6) … Anxiety should not be found in a believer. Instead we are to take all concerns to God. We should develop something of a spiritual instinct, causing us to immediately turn to God when a concern keeps us awake at night. … Also speak to the Lord about any trial you are facing or any difficulty you may have in your family or professional life.”

Well, it was comforting to know we were on the ‘same page, as it were. Though I must confess, much of the anxiety remained throughout that night.

So, the next morning, I got up, still upset and unnerved, but was promptly reminded by my perpetual calendar:  “Spend plenty of time with God; let other things go, but don’t neglect Him. (O. Chambers). “

Let other things go. Focus on Him.

Let other things go. Focus on Him.

Let other things go. Focus on Him.

Now, I’d be lying if I said all those crazy emotions faded away the instant I decided to focus on Him. But, that wasn’t the case. It was more like a determination to stay focused on Him amidst all the turmoil.

It felt like days later, but when I got to work that day, I took the opportunity to water some of the plants outside, to be able to just have some more quiet time. And no sooner had I watered that first batch of flowers, a lady came over to me. She made sure to get my attention, despite my busyness and said “Here. I thought you might like this.” She smiled and turned away, leaving me with this sweet, but powerful note simply saying “Let it go!”, along with a mini Hershey bar.

The tears stung my eyes then, just as they still do now whenever I think about it.

Who says He’s not an intimate God? The God I know is One Who loves to show up in the details of our lives. Waiting for the opportunity to lavish His love on us. And to help us carry our burdens.

But, He won’t impose. He draws near to us when we first draw near to Him. (James 4:8)

Let others things go. Focus on Him.

If you need to see Him move in your life, I encourage you to focus on Him. It may not be instantaneous. You may not feel any differently at first. But, you’ll know it when it happens.

That little mini Hershey bar was one of the sweetest I’ve ever had, but it was gone the day I received it; however, the message still rings true today.

“Let it go!”

Focus on Him.

Published in: on February 10, 2011 at 4:04 pm  Comments (14)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bittersweetjess.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/let-it-go/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks, Jessica. Your post is to me what that note and Hershey bar were to you a few years ago. Need this today!

    • I’m glad. 🙂

      I was wondering why, after all this time, I had the itch to write about it today. 🙂

  2. Wow! Just…wow. Amazing story, Jess. He is an intimate God! I’m so thankful.

  3. Wow! Just…wow. Thanks so much for sharing this amazing story, Jess. He is an intimate God. I am so thankful.

    • He is that, Chanda! Intimate and on-time. Every time. 🙂

  4. “Let it go”- those three words were useful today for so many things, but at the same time they’re are not for the thing i’m still carrying inside, and I can’t let go.
    I know the Holy Spirit is working on me to let them go… but may be it’s me who keeps grabbing on them 😦

    • Trust me, I know what you mean.
      I’m really good at grabbing onto things that are better let go, too.
      It’s not easy, but it is possible! 🙂

  5. Wow! Cool story Jess. I had no idea!

  6. So God had just “one word” for you. 🙂 This is very cool. Thanks for sharing.

    • Letigo!

  7. thank you so much for your beautiful words. God has really been encouraging me to write and share my faith. I have just started a blog myself and it is nice to see other women with the same heart for God. Your blog is something I look forward to following.

    • Thanks, Kim!
      Yeah, I highly encourage it! And I’ll come check it out! 🙂
      I need to get more disciplined again about carving out time for blogging.

  8. Girl, I didn’t even know you were still blogging! I have you on my sidebar now so I wont miss your posts! Guess what I had to do when I read this? That’s right, eat a Hershey Bar!!! I love this story, what a sweet kiss from the King you received. (blessing you with His words sweeter than honey and Chocolate to boot!)

    Sisters to the beginning!
    ~Kathy

    • Hahahahaha. You’re too funny. 🙂


Leave a Reply

