This is my Story… (continued)

 

(for previous ‘Story’ post: 
https://bittersweetjess.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/this-is-my-story-continued/

If the well-known expression rang true and I was to be the camel in the scenario, then 2005 would have been the final straw that broke my proverbial back.

But then, if I started there, I’d be putting the cart before the proverbial horse now, wouldn’t I.

So, let’s just back it up a bit, shall we?

~

… Through several years of moving on and navigating the straight and narrow, I found myself in a more solidified position at work. I found a nice little apartment, just big enough for me, to call ‘home’. Things seemed to continue to ‘fall into place’ and my life started to take shape a little bit more.

Except I couldn’t seem to find someone to share that life with. A desire that had long since developed in my heart and had all but been within reach… and yet still eluded me.

I dated some. Some good. Some bad. I laughed. I cried. Sometimes, even laughed until I cried. And even got my hopes up a time or two for something more. But, the ‘more’ just never came to pass.

Then, in the fall of 2003, I happened back across a guy I knew just in passing from my first year at Piedmont. I also happened to be going to his brother’s church. And in getting to know him better, he happened to love fishing as much as my brother-in-law, his parents happened to love eating where I work and he happened to be living back up in northeast Georgia, which I just happened to love.

You know how, with a mirage, there seems to be something of great substance and promise on the horizon? And yet when you come up on it, it just seems to dissolve into nothingness and you’re left with nothing more than a landscape of sand to quench your thirst?

But alas, I’m jumping ahead again…

(… to be continued…)

Published in: on September 26, 2010 at 10:53 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bittersweetjess.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/this-is-my-story-continued-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow…what a last paragraph! I can’t believe it’s been 5 years since all that happened. I pray for you often, that you’ll find someone to share your dreams with. You deserve it so much. We all love you LOTS!

  2. So, can I get an email when you post the next installment? If I’d know the suspense here I might not have read all of the previous posts yet! 🙂

  3. Ha. Don’t let the suspense fool ya. It’s been nothing but wandering in the desert since the mirage.


Leave a Reply

