‘Reality’

I remember it like it was last week.

I must’ve been about 9 or 10 years old and riding the bus home from school one afternoon.

And for some reason, the idea just popped into my head: “Where will I be in the year 2000?”

It seemed so far away.

Almost like the age of jet-propelled space cars and commuting to Mars.

And I just thought “Well, let’s see… I’ll be OVER 25   *gasp!*   so I will have graduated, married and have a couple of kids by then (and be well on my way to the retirement center…)”.

And though I may have pondered for a moment, how the specifics of that future might play out, the overall picture seemed all but a given. Clearly, an open and shut case.

Now, whether it was accepted with a spirit of anticipation or that of resignation, I couldn’t honestly say to this day.   

Either way…. it was just a matter of fact.

And here, some 25 years later, I still almost feel like that little girl on the bus, wondering at times how it’s all supposed to play out…

But, by now I’ve realized that nothing in life is a given. Each year that lies before us is a mystery. Every day a gift to unwrap as it comes. And sometimes, just sometimes, those matters of fact can just as swiftly turn into fiction.

~

“We all have this picture of the way our lives should be. And for some of us the picture of the way our lives should be and the picture of reality is just a reminder our lives are not turning out the way we had hoped.

“So, what do you do with a shattered dream? What do you do with an unmet expectation? What do you do when your life isn’t turning out the way you thought life was going to turn out?

“What do you do when you have to turn to Plan B?”

~

*  Thoughts based on Chapter 1 of Pete Wilson’s book “Plan B” . *

Published in: on May 24, 2010 at 11:54 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bittersweetjess.wordpress.com/2010/05/24/reality/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I can remember — at about that same age — thinking about the year 2000, too. But when I did the math and realized I’d be over 50 (!!!!) I thought I might not still be alive, so I decided not to think about it any more.


Leave a Reply

