100 (more) Things…

A couple of years ago, I followed strict blogger protocol and came up with my ‘100 Things Jessica’ at about my 100th post. So, this week, in honor of like my 250th post, or going into my 36th year on earth or whatever, I thought it might be fun to do another one.
Let’s see…..
  1. You could call me a procrastinator.
  2. I had intended to do this list over 50 posts ago.
  3. I do however tend to really get things done, once I put my mind to it.
  4. I once quilted a whole bed-sized quilt.
  5. Okay… so, technically, I just pieced the top and my Mom did the rest.
  6. You might also call me a fabricator. (No pun intended.)
  7. My earliest remembrance of fabricating (aka: outright lying) involved an Avon Duster D. Duck and dusting powder.
  8. I couldn’t have been much older than 3 yrs old, but I remember it like it was last week.
  9. I haven’t used dusting powder since.
  10. I tend to traumatize rather easily.
  11. I can’t hear Phil Collins’ “In the Air Tonight” to this day, without being taken back to my room in Sheridan, playing with Barbie Dolls. (Not traumatizing. Just curious as to why that one song stuck, over all the others?)
  12. I do like good drum features in songs.
  13. Music is very influential in my life.
  14. Some of my sweetest memories are of us hanging out in the basement, when we were little, listening to some Eagles, Creedence Clearwater, Don Williams, Emmy Lou Harris, Eddie Rabbit… on Dad’s stereo.
  15. I am totally hooked on sweets.
  16. My favorite midnight snack is a nice glass of orange juice and some form of sweets. Cake, cookies, donuts… or just plain chocolate. ~Yum.
  17. I can’t even eat yogurt anymore without adding chocolate to it.
  18. I really do need help.
  19. And I do worry about the amount of my sugar intake lately.
  20. I’m not a big fan of doctors.
  21. I once passed out at the vet’s office.
  22. I still fight passing out when having my blood drawn.
  23. Though I have gotten significantly better at it.
  24. I was diagnosed in 2004 as having Crohn’s Disease.
  25. A couple years later, I was downgraded to Ulcerative Colitis.
  26. So, not sure what I have exactly (guess it depends on who you ask).
  27. I’m just glad the meds are working.
  28. And that the doctor I ended up with has a sense of humor.
  29. Apparently, during my last colonoscopy, I was reportedly rather concerned that they would upload video of my procedure onto you-tube.
  30. I hope that’s the worst I had to say that day.  *gulp*
  31. I was told that morning that the office was all abuzz thinking that ‘Jessica Simpson’ was there for a colonoscopy.
  32. Yeah… me and Jessica Simpson… same thing.
  33. I can eat my weight in boneless barbequed pork chops off the grill.
  34. My other favorite is teriyaki-marinated pork tenderloin wrapped in bacon.
  35. I’m really not supposed to have much pork in my diet.
  36. I splurge every now and again.
  37. My first favorite Bible verse that I committed to memory was: Isaiah 41:10.
  38.  I now have countless favorites.
  39. I’ve now completed 10 different Bible Studies with the Tuesday night ladies.
  40.  My first one was “Fingerprints of God” by Jennifer Rothschild in 2005.
  41. I just finished up “Woman’s Heart: God’s Dwelling Place” by Beth Moore.
  42. I cherish each study.
  43. And I cherish each one of those sweet ladies.
  44. I am very blessed to be part of such a exemplary church family.
  45. I honestly don’t know where I’d be without it.
  46. I like to listen to David Jeremiah and Ravi Zacharias on the radio.
  47. I almost met Ravi a while back… (I saw a gentleman in the gift shop one day who favored Mr. Zacharias, but I didn’t think much about it… until his wife came back in later and signed her charge slip: Margaret Zacharias!!)
  48. I was beside myself the rest of the day. (If only I’d heard him speak. Then, I would’ve known it was him.)
  49. The funny thing was, just that morning I was ‘Just Thinking’ while listening to his broadcast how I’d like to sit down and ask him a thing or two.
  50. However, I would not have been able to ask a thing, even had I known it was him.
  51. I have met the great guys from MercyMe.
  52. I got voted ‘SLOB’ of the month on their blog (very first one, as a matter of fact).
  53. So, I took it upon myself to introduce myself to them a couple weeks later, when they came to town on tour.
  54. I think I may have frightened Bart. ~ Ha.
  55. That was an all day, outdoor concert and had to be one of the hottest August days in Georgia history.
  56. I. don’t. do. heat.
  57. I love Fall.
  58. I can appreciate Spring.
  59. I don’t mind Winter in the least.
  60. I LOVE snow!!!
  61. And even love me some rain.
  62. But, I am not one for Summer in the least.
  63. I realize I am very misplaced living in the Deep South.
  64. I wish I had the opportunity to travel more.
  65. I actually traveled one year to Branson, Missouri… With my Grandma. On a bus. Full of old folks.
  66. I was 25 at the time.
  67. We saw about 9 shows in 3 days. Those seniors wore me out!
  68. I knew I’d regret it one day, if I didn’t go.
  69. I’m so glad I went. We had the best time.
  70. And there was really only one lady in the group that tested your patience.
  71. Well, two if you count Grandma. 
  72. My favorite place to eat in Branson was McFarland’s.
  73. They served dessert first.
  74. I loved it. (Traffic Jam pie. Mmmmm…)
  75. That concept, however, did NOT fly over well with my traveling comrades.
  76. A busload of 50 folks, average age at about 80 yrs old and I was the only one who had to use to bus ‘facilities’ the entire time we were there. (Figures.)
  77. It did help that our tour director was somewhat young and entertaining.
  78. I think he drank.
  79. I’m pretty sure I would, too if I was him.
  80. My greatest source of entertainment these days is “Castle”.
  81. I dropped cable last July, so I now watch “Castle” online.
  82. I don’t miss the rest at all.
  83. I’ve also been without a phone for going on a month now.
  84. I’m okay with that, too.
  85. My inner editor finds it VERY difficult ‘2 text’.
  86. I eat candy in 3’s and 5’s… or 8’s.
  87. I only eat Jelly Belly’s and assorted chocolates if there’s a chart.
  88. I don’t like surprises (especially if it’s with the likes of burnt popcorn-flavored candy or coconut laced chocolate.)
  89. I was once surprised at Turner Field when a bird selected me to poo-poo on.
  90. I also got a surprise when I was hit by a misfired nail out of a nail gun at Stanley Proto.
  91. It’s funny, because I’m not normally one to be caught off-guard. I usually see things coming…
  92. In college, I once went on a blind date I wasn’t even sure I was on.
  93. I didn’t see that coming.
  94. I saw ‘Tombstone’ for the first time that night.
  95. I saw ‘Tombstone’ 2 more times on the big screen after that.
  96. But, not on blind dates.  … I don’t think??
  97. I’ve forgiven the mastermind of my blind-sided blind date. (It probably didn’t hurt that it involved seeing ‘Tombstone’.)
  98. And I’ve forgiven the nail gun operator.
  99. As well as the bird.
  100. I still have yet to forgive Duster D. Duck.

Published in: on May 9, 2010 at 5:32 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bittersweetjess.wordpress.com/2010/05/09/100-more-things/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOL at #92! Was that with the same guy who bumped his head and forgot your number all summer??? 🙂

    • Nooo.
      I was asked by a guy in my biology class if I wanted to go catch a movie with a group of folks one night. I asked “like who all is going?” He said “You know, just a group… me, Lisa,… I don’t know who else. Just c’mon.”
      So, I get picked up and those two are in the front seat and so I naturally sit in back… with this Walt guy I didn’t know. So, I’m just thinking “Hmmm… we must be meeting the ‘group’ in Gainesville”.
      We then proceed to go through dinner without having met up with ‘the group’. “Hmmmm… maybe we’re meeting up at the theater??”
      Nope. By the end of the evening, I had (finally) pretty well figured out that I’d been fixed up without even realizing it.
      Hahaha… but like I say. It was a great movie anyway. 🙂

  2. #6 I don’t for a minute believe the pun was not intended
    #33 Friday night. Wait for it…wait for it
    #97 – #99 Forgiveness is a good thing
    #100 – He’s here if you’d like to discuss the whole incident with him

    • Actually, I really didn’t plan that pun at all. Just one of those happy little accidents. 🙂

      Holding out for those chops! Hope you make enough!!

      Duster D Duck will just have to wait…

  3. I just love your sweet heart and one day I am going to get down to actually meet you in real life. Loved learning more about you and I will rest so much better tonight, knowing you forgave that rotten bird for pooping on you. Ha. That is so something that would happen to me.

    • Hahaha… thanks, Lyndy.
      So glad you’ll sleep better with that knowledge. 🙂


Leave a Reply

