From Exhilaration to Procrastination in No Time Flat

You know, it’s funny.

I remember during the summers, when we were in elementary school, Mom would give us incentives to read. For example, if we read 5 books, we’d get a pack of pencils. For 10, we’d get a pizza party. For 20, we’d get a pony.

Okay…. so maybe it never got that out of hand. But, I’m sure it got us to read more than we normally would have.

However, my sister Jodi was always the more incentive-driven child. Me… not so much. I’m sure she read about 5 to my 1.

And honestly, aside from the obligatory 80s ‘classics’ by Judy Blume, I think the only ones I really remember actually getting into were the “Little House on the Prairie” books.

But, what’s funny is, one of my fondest memories from elementary school is when we’d have a book fair. I LOVED them! All the new exciting books. Oh so cute bookmarks. Pens. Posters. You name it. They had it. And I wanted one of everything there.

Of course, then I’d get my few carefully selected treasures home…. and there they’d sit. The new exciting books. The sweet kitty poster that said “Hang in There!” The cute little puppy dog bookmark that said “Don’t let your books get ‘dog-eared’!”

The exhilaration of the book fair long since passed.

And you know… some 25 odd years later… I’m still the same girl.

I can walk into a book store and just be totally intoxicated. Taken in by all the titles. All the stories waiting to be told. All the pages waiting to be turned. I find myself wanting nearly one of everything. And I want to read them all right then and there.

However, then I get my carefully selected treasures home… and there they sit.

The exhilaration of the book store long since passed.

So, I have to wonder. What happens to all that excitement between the book store and home? And how do I retain it? or recreate it at home?

Maybe I need a few more titles to choose from.

Maybe I need a nice coffee aroma going.

Maybe I need more cute little puppy dog bookmarks.

Maybe I need to just get off of wordpress and go grab one off the stack.

Hmmmm… only problem is. I’m as bad about decision-making as I am with procrastination.

Published in: on April 5, 2010 at 3:38 pm  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bittersweetjess.wordpress.com/2010/04/05/812/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Maybe it’s time to bring back the reward system. If you read 10 of those books, I’ll get you a pizza.

  2. Hahaha…
    If I hold out and do those 14 plus the one that’s coming in the mail, do I get the pony? 🙂

  3. wow… such a wonderful post…
    outstanding balance of lines and words….
    Learnt a lot from you….

    visit mine… & plz plz plz post your comments….

    Thank you…

    I’ll be in touch…

  4. Funny! I remember getting in trouble for reading too much (and not cleaning my room, etc). We were actually put on reading restriction for a week at the time. Now, I have books that stack up because I just don’t have time to read them. It makes me more careful about how I spend money on books, though. So when I do have time, I know I’ll have lots of great books to catch up on!!

    • Lol.
      Too funny, Jaime!
      Yeah, we didn’t have that problem at our house.

      But, thankfully, I’m making up for lost time now.

  5. Maybe, instead of stacking them up, you could put them on display around your apartment. Certainly you have something you could bring home from the shop! Then light a coffee scented candle and start browsing. 🙂

  6. i’ve heard it said that when we buy books, we are subconsciously trying to buy the TIME to read them..
    i love buying books..i love reading books..i love smelling books (yeah, seriously)..i just don’t have the time to read them all..
    blah..slow down clock..


Leave a Reply

