“Behold,
 I am with you
ALWAYS.”

 

 

I just have to share this.

I finally have a new entry for my Ebenezer Journal! It’s been awhile…

There for awhile, I just had things to jot down left and right. Several things a week. You know, back when I actually made the time to really spend with the Father. Just recognizable running themes, notions impressed upon me, and simple reassurances of His presence in my life.

And today was just such a sweet little reminder.

It may not even mean anything to you. It may not seem like much. But, you know when it’s directed at your heart of hearts… and it’s just so sweet.

Already set out to be more diligent this week in my devotional time and all set up to dig back into my Tabernacle study and spending MUCH quality time in prayer this morning (didn’t a lot of us start out our day today on our knees, after the news yesterday – eesh)… I picked up my trusty little old “Streams in the Desert”. And so I began…

“…Someday we will see that ‘the plunder taken in battle’ from our trials was simply preparing us to become like Great-heart in ‘Pilgrim’s Progress’, so we too could lead our fellow pilgrims triumphantly through trials to the city of the King…”

And finishing the day’s devotion with the prayer:

“Lord, help me today to draw strength from everything that comes to me!”

Just as I was wrapping it up and already feeling reassured and inspired… I got sidetracked by my cat. I had just recently started putting her favorite chirpy bird in a birdcage that I’ve had and letting her figure out how to get it out. She was having a good time messing with it and finally freed her little bird and walked away with it so proudly. I just had to smile.

So, I turned back to my “Streams” to finish out the day’s devotion with the poem at the end…

“He placed me in a little cage,
Away from gardens fair;
But, I must sing the sweetest songs
Because He placed me there.
~
Not beat my wings against the cage
If it’s my Maker’s will,
But, raise my voice to heaven’s gate
And sing the louder still!”

No sooner did I read the first line in that poem and the tears were stinging my eyes. He’s so timely. And so intimate. Why should it still take me by surprise?

But, the best part is… when I finished the reading, I realized it was tomorrow’s devotion! I had somehow skipped a day?! (I’m usually behind, if anything.)

SUCH a tender little reminder that He is ever-present, ever-living and so help me, always on the same page! Even when I don’t know whether I’m coming or going or what day it is!

Published in: on March 22, 2010 at 3:08 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bittersweetjess.wordpress.com/2010/03/22/760/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh sweet friend I love this…every stinkin word of it. So good. Thank you for sharing.

    • Awww… thanks, Lyndy. I know it may not seem like anything earth-shattering to most, but you just know it when He’s speaking to you and it gets me every time. 🙂


Leave a Reply

