Living out Your Story

Read a blog post the other day (yes, I still read them, even though I’ve gotten quite lax about writing one…) that was an interesting take on the whole New Year’s Resolutions idea.

It comes from Donald Miller’s blog and he, being an author puts our lives in the perspective of a storyline, if you will. Each month, each year, merely chapters making up a larger life story.

I just keep thinking about my storyline and the direction it’s taken and perhaps the direction I’d like to see it take. Any possible protagonists or antagonists I have met, or may encounter along the way.

I already know the main characters and setting. But, what about the plot? The recurring theme? The tone? Is it a work I could be proud of? What could it be titled up to this point? What would I like it to be titled? How can I live my life in such a way that this title would be fitting?

Like I say… very interesting. And thought-provoking. And maybe it’s just me, but I know I’m going into this whole new year with a whole new outlook on my life. And who knows… maybe a year from now, I’ll be looking back on a whole new story. 

“If we don’t want something in our lives, our stories feel boring, long, meaningless and tired. We feel this way because we are sitting in the theater of our mind watching a story that isn’t getting started. Or worse, we are praying and asking God to give us a story while the entire time God is handing us a pen, telling us to write it ourselves. That’s why he gave us a will.”

Is there anything you would rewrite about your life if you could (bearing in mind, you can only change the present and the future… not so much the past)? If so, what and how?

Published in: on January 3, 2010 at 10:33 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bittersweetjess.wordpress.com/2010/01/03/561/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I went to Miller’s blog from your FB link, and had a wow moment. Thanks. The concept of “want something” hit so close to home for me, especially because he referenced “Rudy.” God used a similar experience in my life during college to teach me the tremendous power of passion and desire for something I wanted more than anything.

    But now I find myself afraid to want. As you live life and get older, the cost of failure gets higher and the fear of moving down a dead-end road of my own will versus His will for me is greater … is it MY pen writing the story or His? I’m always trying to be still and listen to His spirit leading me, but there’s that seed of doubt. To answer your question, this is what I would “rewrite.” I can’t live without passion and forward motion. That’s not life at all. And I don’t believe He wants me to live my life saying “Whatever you want, Lord … it doesn’t matter to me.” The “how” of your question is another deal … don’t know yet.

    • You know, it makes me think of those lyrics by U2:

      “When you stop taking chances
      You’ll stay where you sit
      You won’t live any longer
      But it’ll feel like it”

      I totally relate to this way of thinking that you describe. But, I think that’whether you think you can or think you can’t, either way, you’re right.’

      Working on that one myself, too.

      Thanks for the honest feedback!

  2. I found Miller’s blog about this topic unique and very Miller-ish. I loved it.
    I can’t believe I’ve never thought to look him up in the blogoshpere.
    Blue Like Jazz remains in my top 5 of all time most influential books.

    • You must not have read his recent “Million Miles in a Thousand Years” either then!
      Oh, man! You HAVE to read it!! I just finished it the other night. I love it even more than “Blue Like Jazz”. I laughed. I cried. Didn’t want it to end. Read it in 6 hours. And I’m like Max Lucado.. I already want to re-read it!
      Haven’t posted about it yet, because I’m speechless. Wouldn’t know how to do it justice. But, needless to say…. VERY inspiring!!


Leave a Reply

